Spaghetti Carbonara

Leave a comment

Carbonara is one of my favorite Italian dishes but with all that cream and parmesan cheese it really packs in the calories, which is why I would usually avoid it unless I was eating out.  Until I found this recipe on the Philadelphia Cream Cheese website. You get the same creamy taste but with much less calories.  I also like to swap the regular spaghetti for wholemeal spaghetti and add in a couple of handfuls of chopped button mushrooms when frying the bacon. This is a firm favourite in our house.

Carbonara is also a great way to use up egg yolks. I had some left over from a healthy low fat feta cheese egg white omelette I’d made for lunch a few days earlier. I just froze the egg yolks and took them out the freezer the night before I needed them. They tend to get a bit lumpy once defrosted but this is fine! I’ve read that adding a small amount of salt or sugar to the yolks before freezing stops this. So you’d use salt for savoury sauces and sugar for custards etc. I’ll try this next time and let you know how it goes!

A quick shot of what I used (Angel Hair Pasta, not pictured, was my choice of pasta last night)

DSC_1963

Here’s the original recipe

http://www.philadelphia.co.uk/Recipes/Spaghetti-Carbonara?r=9295

DSC_1968

 

Leave a Reply

